In contrast to female world leaders, who have become increasingly common in recent decades, the world has not seen very many openly homosexual world leaders, and gay and lesbian presidents and prime ministers remain exceedingly rare. Rare, but not nonexistent.

As of February 2, 2012 there are currently two openly gay world leaders in power:

1 Iceland Prime Minister Jóhanna Sigurdardóttir Feb. 1, 2009 -
2 Belgium Prime Minister Elio Di Rupo Dec. 6, 2011 -
Prime Minister Jóhanna Sigurdardóttir (born October 4, 1942) came to power in Iceland following the country's economic collapse in late 2008. A member of the Icelandic social democratic party, her government passed same-sex marriage legislation in 2010 which allowed her to marry her longtime partner, writer Jónína Leósdóttir, shortly after.
Prime Minister Elio Di Rupo (born July 18, 1951) became leader of Belgium in late 2011, ending an infamously long period in which a deadlocked parliament was unable to assemble a workable coalition to govern the country. Di Rupo has been open about his sexuality since the 1990s, but is currently single. Same-sex marriage has been legal in Belgium since 2003.

Though this is obviously a difficult thing to measure, it's generally believed that Mrs. Sigurdardóttir and Mr. Di Rupo are the first lesbian and gay world leaders in modern history. If there were any homosexual prime ministers or presidents before them, they were not open about it.

email me:

Return to Filibuster cartoons